2014 U.S. and World Chess Hall of Fame Inductions
WednesdayMay 7
2014 U.S. and World Chess Hall of Fame Inductions

World Chess Hall of Fame
4652 Maryland Avenue
Saint Louis, Missouri

Join us in welcoming four exceptional players to the pantheon of chess greats!

On May 7th, Abraham Kupchik and Jacqueline Piatigorsky will be inducted to the U.S. Chess Hall of Fame, and Maya Chiburdanidze and Paul Keres will join the ranks of the legendary players in the World Chess Hall of Fame. The inductions will be held during the opening ceremony of the 2014 U.S. and U.S. Women’s Chess Championships.

6:00 p.m. Cocktails
7:00 p.m. Opening Remarks, Drawing of Lots, and Inductions to the U.S. and World Chess Halls of Fame

$25 per person

Tickets available online or
RSVP to register@saintlouischessclub.org or call Chi Chi LLC at 314.678.0500


About the 2014 World Chess Hall of Fame Honorees

Maya Chiburdanidze (b. 1961)

Maya Chiburdanidze’s introspective, exceptional play earned her U.S.S.R. Women’s Chess Championship at the young age of sixteen. The following year, she earned a place at the top of women’s chess, becoming the youngest woman at that time to win the Women’s World Championship when she defeated Nona Gaprindashvili. Chiburdanidze would defend her title four times, finally losing it in 1991 to Xie Jun. A pioneer in women’s chess, Chiburdanidze was only the second woman to earn the title of Grandmaster in 1984. She was a member of the Soviet and later Georgian women’s teams that dominated the Women’s Chess Olympiads through the 1980s and 1990s, winning nine team gold medals and four individual gold medals on Board 1.

Paul Keres (1916–1975)

A three-time Soviet chess champion, Keres was a candidate for the World Chess Championship seven times and finished equal third in the 1948 World Chess Championship tournament. Keres’ near misses earned him the nickname “The Crown Prince of Chess.” Keres’ many tournament victories included ties for first in both AVRO 1938 (which he won on tiebreak) and the 1963 Piatigorsky Cup, two of the strongest tournaments ever held. He also played on gold medal winning teams representing the Soviet Union in the 1952 – 1964 Chess Olympiads. Additionally, Keres’ multi-volume series detailing his games ranks among the greatest best games collections ever written.


About the 2014 U.S. Chess Hall of Fame Honorees

Abraham Kupchik (1892–1970)

Born in Brest (then a part of Russia), Abraham Kupchik immigrated to the U.S. in 1903 and was one of the strongest American players from 1914 to 1940. He shared first place with U.S. Champion Frank Marshall in 1923 at the 9th American Chess Congress and won the prestigious Manhattan Chess Club Championship thirteen times between 1913/14 and 1936/37. He earned second place at the Lake Hopatcong chess tournament behind José Raúl Capablanca and ahead of Géza Maróczy, Frank Marshall, and Edward Lasker. In the 1935 Chess Olympiad, Kupchik earned team gold and individual bronze medals playing Board 3 for the U.S. His accomplishments also included playing Board 9 in the famed 1945 U.S.A.-U.S.S.R. radio match.

Jacqueline Piatigorsky (1911–2012)

A woman of many talents, Jacqueline Piatigorsky transformed American chess through her efforts as an organizer, philanthropist, and player. She won an individual bronze medal on Board 2 when she represented the U.S. in the first Women’s Chess Olympiad in 1957. Piatigorsky is best remembered for organizing two of the greatest American chess tournaments: the 1963 and 1966 Piatigorsky Cups. Committed to promoting youth chess, she created scholastic programs in Southern California in the early 1960s through the Piatigorsky Foundation. She also initiated the U.S. Junior Closed Chess Championship and provided support for the U.S. and U.S. Women’s Chess Championships.